In partnership with CBSSports.com
The No. 1 'Bama fan community on the Internet
BOL message board for off-topic posts
Tailgating, recipes, cooking, food & drink
Buy, sell or swap tickets
You have no favorite boards.
The most viewed topics.
The most replied to topics.
The most up-voted topics.
The most down-voted topics.
The most up-voted posters.
The most down-voted posters.
The most followed posters.
I am arguing with my barner bro in-law about the Jones play and he thinks it is complete bs on the call. I thought there was no halo rule anymore so I am confused on the explanation of Redding as well. It wouldn't of matter but I wanted to see if there was anyone with more knowledge than me that can explain the ruling. Thanks guys. 15 sure does taste good.
The NCAA rules guy came on during the game - there isnt a HALO rule anymore, but you do have to give the player a chance to catch it. Obv contact is not allowed at all, but you cant be inches away from them either.
The ND player looked like he may have been pushed into Jones, but he he was very close to him right as the ball came down. The flag was thrown right away and was probably the right call.
If anybody wants to argue he was pushed into him then that might be a valid point, but he did interfere with the catch as well.
Really thought could have went either way. Would ask if that call also put up 500+ yards of O on that vaunted D?
Well my bro in-law said well what can be considered interference. What If he is 5 yards away and the ref thinks the player interfered. I know you can't argue with a barner but just drives me nuts.
Prob tell the bro inlaw to STFU and ask how there bowl game went??
This post was edited by Bama Boz 18 months ago
If it helps, you can just ask Brian Kelly. He didn't even argue the call. He thought it was interference if a fair catch was called for. Brent Musburger is an idiot. Those guys should really learn the rules before they become an announcer. Kelly was arguing that the returner didn't call for a fair catch successfully, which means you can get a little closer. The call was correct.
I think it was the correct call from what the rule states.
I thought it could have gone either way. It was a pretty late fair catch signal, too.
In the end it didn't matter anyways. We were clearly the better team.
Tell him to listen to the TV broadcast that Rogers Redding explained it to Mussbooger and Herbstreet. According to RR, it was the right call.
When in doubt, go to the rule book.
Rule 6, Section 4, Article 1.b.
"b. It is an interference foul if, before the receiver touches the ball, a Team A
player enters the area defined by the width of the receiver’s shoulders and
extending one yard in front of him. When in question it is a foul."
So, one thing you notice when you read the rule is that this is not a call that "can go either way." The rule very clearly says, "when in question, it is a foul." So by definition, if the official thinks it could go either way, he must throw the flag.
^^^This^^^ ...also makes no difference whether its a fair catch or not...one yard of clearance has to be given.
It looked to me like he purposely stoped so the bama player would hit him in the back so he would get the call so the bama player tried to step out of the way cause he stopped so fast and almost hit the returner.. I think the officials saw that.
I rewatched it about 20 times and thats what i saw.
This^^^^ You are allowed to run beside them before they catch the ball. You can even stand 1 inch away from the side of the returner, but you can't just run up into their face.
As to the post about the ND player being blocked into him. My opinion when I saw it was that the ND player probably would've ran straight into the returner had he not been for that shove.
Absolutely. The ND defender was running full speed and making no effort to slow down or stop. Any contact by the Bama blocker was incidental.
I thought it was because if the returner calls for a fair catch, you have to give him a chance to catch it. That is why I also thought that the penalty was called on the guy that hit Jones AFTER he started falling to the ground trying to catch the ball. Watch the replay.
Either way, I'll sleep better next year if double deuce isn't returning punts. His decisions on those first two were horrendous
I do lose a year of my life every time he fields one. I about had a heart attack when he jumped to catch that punt after the first bounce. It bounced 3-4 yards in front of him. Why couldn't he just get under it? He often fails to get under them and then makes a high risk attempt to keep it from rolling past.
agree..probably shouldnt have been called IMO but didnt matter
Here is my $0.02
The call that he was too close is the right one, and even though Brian Kelly bitched about it initially he changed his bitch later to asking the refs to call a penalty against Jones for fair catch infraction by saying his fair catch symbol was not clear. Rogers Redding was on the broadcast and explained why it was the right call by the ref.
Now, what could have also been called was a block in the back by the player blocking the offending Notre Dame player. It was not egregious, but it was a slight shove in the back. Still, I am not sure that would have made any difference in the game except it might have added another 7 points to ND total, or maybe 3, or maybe none since out D probably would have played lights out longer into the game.
"Touch that thang four" - Courtney Upshaw
I also think when a fair catch is called that u have to let the ball hit the ground as a defender before u can touch the ball. So he had to let the ball hit the ground after Jones bobbled it before he could possess it. Folks I was with were making fun of me when I said this and then someone from TOS retweeted a tweet saying this same thing
I thought the rule when you call for a fair catch that even on the bobble the player must be allowed to catch the ball until it hits the ground. The other team did not allow the ball to hit the ground and not give Jones a chance to catch the bobble.
Not sure if these rules are still valid but this is what i have always thought.
If after a fair catch signal, receiver muffs the kick, he must be given an unmolested opportunity to catch the ball before it hits the ground. If he completes the catch on a different yard line, place ball where first touched.
Auburn fans are energy vampires.
This is actually 100% correct.
When talking to an Auburn fan, keep Mark Twain's advice in mind:
Never argue with an idiot. Onlookers may have a hard time understanding which of you is which.
247Sports In partnership with CBS Sports