In partnership with CBSSports.com
Online Now 1326
Online now 922 Record: 9097 (3/2/2012)
The No. 1 'Bama fan community on the Internet
BOL message board for off-topic posts
Tailgating, recipes, cooking, food & drink
Buy, sell or swap tickets
You have no favorite boards.
The most viewed topics.
The most replied to topics.
The most up-voted topics.
The most down-voted topics.
The most up-voted posters.
The most down-voted posters.
The most followed posters.
Not according to this:
"Sorry it took me so long to answer. I was just thinking about how weird it is that we eat birds." - Tracy Jordan
Staff, why does my off-topic discussion gets moved to the water cooler, but this is allowed to stay? Double standard IYAM! Thus had nothing to do with Alabama football.
Great discussion on PGA Tour radio this morning about how this line of thinking is completely wrong. As John Maginnes explained:
1: the rule is vague, and all of the players break it all the time. All of these players are skilled at dropping a golf ball. All of them could drop it in their old divot. When do you ever see a player dropped the ball in their old divot? He stated that he has had numerous current and former pros tell him that virtually all of the players on tour do what Tiger did and deliberately drop the ball some distance from their old mark. He said that there is already talk that rule will be changed to say you have to drop it within a club length.
2. The two stroke penalty was not for signing an incorrect card; that was the penalty that would have been assessed for the bad drop had it been called at the time.
3. The rules committee conducted a video review of the drop before Tiger signed his card and concluded that the drop was consistent with a fair application of the drop rule (and consistent with how tour pros follow that rule).
4. The interview provided additional information from which the rules committee determined that they needed to re-review the video.
5. Because the rules committee approved the drop prior to Tiger signing his card, the card was not incorrect when he signed it.
6. The committee decided to use rule 33-7 but had they wanted to, they could also have used the " rule of equity" which apparently has been used before when a rules official says that a drop was okay and then it is later determined that the drop was improper.
7. Whatever the literal reading of rule 33 7 may be, it's purpose is to protect a player from disqualification where additional information causes a penalty to be assessed after a card is signed, which is exactly what happened here.
8. It's not Tiger's job to interpret the scope of the new rule. Saying he should withdraw because some people disagree with the committee's interpretation of the new rule is just stupid. Players may call a penalty on themselves, but no player on tour would in essence overrule a rule interpretation on their favor.
This post was edited by The Coleman Kid 12 months ago
I hope he wins just so I can enjoy people like you crying about it forever.
Actually, I would love to see him lose by one stroke. I have always hated
how the media has fawned over him.
The only flaw in that whole debate (I heard it as well) was the assumption that tiger didn't know the rule. I didn't and still don't believe that. The guy has lived and breathed golf literally his entire life.
I honestly think he was so pissed at the time, and rightfully so, about the bad break he got that he just wasn't thinking straight. That's remedial golf rules.
He intentionally and admittedly chose not to replay the shot from as close to the original location.
If it were pursued from that angle, then it would've had an entirely different outcome.
I'm not a tiger hater by any means. He's nit my favorite, but I want him to be at his best and in contention at the majors, no matter who wins. It makes the event that much more dramatic.
But I do believe that both he and the competition committee FUBARed this whole thing.
I'm pulling for SEC golf today - Snedeker. But Days early run so far is fun to see.
247Sports In partnership with CBS Sports