Online Now 1678

Jones in line for hardware haul

TUSCALOOSA _ University of Alabama senior center Barrett Jones had better sign up for a frequent-flyer program, because after potentially playing in the SEC Championship Game in Atlanta on Dec. 1, he’s going spend most of the subsequent week bouncing around the county.

Barrett Jones better get ready to meet a lot of reporters in December when he makes the awards tour.

On Dec. 4, he’ll be in New York being honored as a national scholar-athlete during the NFF Chapter Awards Luncheon, presented by Under Armour, at the Waldorf-Astoria. He’s one of 15 finalists for the prestigious Campbell Trophy, which is essentially the academic Heisman Trophy.

Dec. 5 is the awards banquet for the Rotary Lombardi Trophy, which will be presented to the college lineman of the year by the Rotary Club of Houston. Jones is one of four finalists along with South Carolina’s Jadeveon Clowney, Georgia’s Jarvis Jones, and Notre Dame’s Manti Te’o.

Finally, on Dec. 6, he’ll be in Orlando with Dee Milliner for the Home Depot Awards Show. While Jones was named a finalist for the Outland Trophy as the best interior lineman, which he won last year, Milliner will be up for the Thorpe Award as best defensive back.

Finalists for all the awards that will be presented during the Home Depot Show were announced Monday:

Chuck Bednarik Award
College Defensive Player of the Year
Jadeveon Clowney (South Carolina)
Jarvis Jones (Georgia)
Manti Te’o (Notre Dame)

Biletnikoff Award
Nation’s Outstanding Receiver
Stedman Bailey (West Virginia)
Marqise Lee (USC)
Terrance Williams (Baylor)

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award
Nation’s Outstanding Placekicker
Dustin Hopkins (FSU)
Cairo Santos (Tulane)
Caleb Sturgis (Florida)

Ray Guy Award
Nation’s Outstanding Punter
Ryan Allen (La Tech)*
Kyle Christy (Florida)
Scott Kovanda (Ball State)

Barrett Jones will try and win the Outland Trophy as both a left tackle and center.

Maxwell Award
College Player of the Year
Collin Klein (Kansas State)
Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M)
Manti Te’o (Notre Dame)

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award
Nation’s Best Quarterback
Collin Klein (Kansas State)
Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M)
Braxton Miller (Ohio State)
Outland Trophy

Nation’s Outstanding
Interior Lineman
Jonathan Cooper (UNC)
Luke Joeckel (Texas A&M)
Barrett Jones (Alabama)*

Jim Thorpe Award
Nation’s Outstanding Defensive Back
Johnthan Banks (Mississippi State)
Dee Milliner (Alabama)
Phillip Thomas (Fresno State)

Doak Walker Award
Nation’s Outstanding Running Back
Montee Ball (Wisconsin)
Kenjon Barner (Oregon)
Johnathan Franklin (UCLA)

ESPNU will feature the 27 nominees for those awards during The Home Depot College Football Awards: Nomination Special on Tuesday at 5 p.m.

Milliner has 45 tackles in 10 starts and accounted for 14 pass breakups and two interceptions while making four tackles for loss (19 yards) and 1.5 sacks (11 yards). His 30 career pass breakups are tied for third in school history and third in the NCAA among active players.

Jones has graded out at an average of 89.7 percent in the Tide’s 11 games, including eight games over 90 percent. He has only six missed assignments on 606 plays this season while anchoring one of the nation’s top offensive lines in 47 starts over the last four years.

Junior cornerback Dee Milliner will try and win Alabama's second Thorpe Award.

Jones is also expected to be a finalist for the Rimington Trophy for best center, which will also be handed out Dec. 6. A reigning Outland winner has never won the Rimington, and the last repeat winner of the Outland was Nebraska’s Dave Rimington (1981-82).

Alabama players

Campbell Trophy (academic Heisman): Barrett Jones named finalist. . Winner announced Dec. 4.
Bronko Nagurski Award (best defensive player): Dee Milliner named finalist. Nico Johnson, Robert Lester, C.J. Mosley, Jesse Williams were all on watch list. Winner announced Dec. 3.
Unitas Golden Arm Award: A.J. McCarron named finalist. Winner named Dec. 7.
ARA Sportsmanship Award: Barrett Jones named finalist.
Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back): Dee Milliner named finalist. Robert Lester was on watch list, Milliner added to it. Winner named Dec. 6.
Outland Trophy (interior lineman): Barrett Jones named finalist. D.J. Fluker, Chance Warmack and Jesse Williams were on watch list. Winner named Dec. 6.
Rotary Lombardi Award (best lineman): Barrett Jones named finalist. D.J. Fluker and Chance Warmack were quarterfinalists. Nico Johnson, C.J. Mosley and Jesse Williams were on the watch list. Winner named Dec. 5.

To be announced

Butkus Award (best linebacker): C.J. Mosley named semifinalist. Nico Johnson was on watch list. Finalists named Nov. 20.
Walter Camp Award (player of the year): A.J. McCarron named semifinalist. Barrett Jones was on the watch list. Finalists named Nov. 28.
Rimington Trophy (center): Barrett Jones named to the watch list. Finalists named Dec. 3.

Awards not up for
Ray Guy Award (best punter).
Biletnikoff Award (best receiver).
Ted Hendricks Award (best defensive end).
Paul Hornung Award (most versatile player).
Mackey Award (top tight end): Michael Williams was on the watch list.
Doak Walker Award (best running back): Eddie Lacy was on the watch list.
Lott Impact Trophy (defensive impact player): Jesse Williams was a quarterfinalist.
Davey O’Brien Award (best quarterback): AJ McCarron was a semifinalist.
Maxwell Award (outstanding player): AJ McCarron was a semifinalist. Eddie Lacy was on watch list.
Bednarik Award (best defensive player): C.J. Mosley, Dee Milliner were semifinalists. Nico Johnson, Robert Lester, Jesse Williams were on watch list.
Lou Groza Award (kicker): Jeremy Shelley was a semifinalist.

Already have an account? Sign In